Skip to main content

You're viewing an archived page. It is no longer being updated.

NRO NC Nominations 2011

Wilfried Woeber was appointed by the RIPE NCC Executive Board to take the vacant seat on the Number Resource Organization (NRO) Number Council (NC). He will serve a three-year term that runs from 1 January 2012 to 31 December 2014.

The RIPE NCC Executive Board Chairman, Nigel Titley, made the announcement during the Closing Plenary session on Friday, 4 November 2011, at the RIPE 63 Meeting in Vienna.

Any individual residing within the RIPE NCC service region was eligible for nomination, except Regional Internet Registry (RIR) staff members. Self-nominations were permitted.

All nominees could submit a written statement in support of their nomination for publication on the RIPE NCC website. Other individuals could express support for nominated individuals to be published on the RIPE NCC website.

About the NRO Number Council

The NRO NC was established in October 2004 under a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU). The NRO NC is made up of three individuals from each of the five RIR regions. Of these three seats, one is filled by each RIR's Executive Council (EC). This individual acts as a representative for the RIR, reporting regularly to their EC. For the RIPE NCC, Wilfried Woeber currently holds this position. His seat is being vacated on 31 December 2014.

The remaining two positions are filled by the election of nominees from each RIR's service region. These two members of the NRO NC act as individuals and do not represent an RIR or act as representatives of any organisation. One seat is currently filled by Hans Petter Holen and the other by Dave Wilson.

If you have any questions please contact: [email protected]