Skip to main content

You're viewing an archived page. It is no longer being updated.

RIPE NCC Executive Board Selects New Chair

executive board news

The Executive Board is pleased to announce that Ondřej Filip has been appointed as the new Chair with effect from 1 September 2022. Filip succeeds Christian Kaufmann who will step down from the position from the same date.

Ondřej is an experienced Board member - over the course of his career he has served on the boards of many Internet-related bodies and has more than 20 years of experience in the telecommunications industry. He has served on the RIPE NCC Board for three years and has been Treasurer since 2020. 

Ondřej said: “It is a privilege to be appointed Chair, I’m pleased members of the Board perceive my work in the leadership of this organisation as beneficial to the RIPE NCC and my goal is to continue to support activities that contribute to the stability and evolution of the Internet. Christian has provided excellent leadership and he leaves the RIPE NCC in a very strong position.” 

Christian has been selected to serve a three-year term on Seat 10 of the ICANN Board of Directors and will officially step down from his position as RIPE NCC Board Chairman in September. He will remain a member of the RIPE NCC Board until his term expires in May 2023.

With Ondřej’s appointment as Chair, Raymond Jetten will become Treasurer. Piotr Strzyżewski remains as Secretary and Remco van Mook remains as NRO EC representative, while Maria Häll becomes the Community Projects Fund representative.