You are here: Home > Participate > Meetings and Events > Open House > RIPE NCC Open House and LINX Present... Let’s Go Virtual!

RIPE NCC Open House and LINX Present... Let’s Go Virtual!

Tuesday, 30 June at 15:00 - 16:00 CEST | 13:00 - 14:00 UTC | 09:00 - 10:00 EDT


Read the moderators' reflections on this session on RIPE Labs!

"Another meeting, another hotel, another airport..."

Like it or not, regular community meetings and events have been a staple of the Internet industry for many years now. Until COVID-19 came along and changed all that!

All across the industry, we have seen events moving online, with presenters and participants from all over the world logging on to follow sessions remotely. That so many large and small events have made this transition so quickly and smoothly has been truly impressive. And there’s much we can gain by creating a level playing field for everyone through an online medium.

But are there also things that we risk losing when we move our events online? With the future of international travel still unclear, as we look to longer-term community approaches, what have we learnt so far and what can we do to support strong communities? And how do we ensure sound, consensus-based decision making in our virtual industry events?

Recording

Speakers

Alissa Cooper, Chair of the Internet Engineering Task Force (IETF)

Fergal Cunningham, Acting Chief Communications Officer, RIPE NCC

Sandra Hoferichter, EuroDIG Secretary General

Edward McNair, Executive Director of NANOG

Adam Peake, Global Stakeholder Engagement, ICANN

 

Moderators

Chris Buckridge, Head of External Relations, RIPE NCC

Nurani Nimpuno, Head of Global Engagement, LINX