<<< Chronological >>> Author Index    Subject Index <<< Threads >>>

Re: [anti-spam-wg@localhost] Spam-RBL, anyone?

On Wed, Jan 07, 2004 at 10:38:20AM +0000, Niall O'Reilly wrote:
> Happy New Year to you all!
> Anyone know about these folks: http://www.spam-rbl.com/ ?
> Their web site isn't exactly rich in information about
> who they are, how they operate, how to contact them, or why
> anyone should consider them professionally respectable.
In almost all cases, notifications that they have sent to
abuse@localhost have related to instances where they have
been misled by simple SMTP header forgery, careful header analysis
having revealed that there was no easynet user or network involvement

Using their DNSBL as the basis of any form of spam filtering solution
would be a spectacularly bad idea.

Anthony Edwards              *     anthony.edwards@localhost
Abuse Team Manager           *     Easynet UK Abuse Team
Easynet Ltd                  *     DDI: 0161 227 0707
http://www.uk.easynet.net    *     Fax: 0845 333 4503

<<< Chronological >>> Author    Subject <<< Threads >>>