About RIPE | Contact  | Search | Sitemap    
Homepage RIPE  
RIPE Community Mail Archives
search  
     
RIPE Navigation Ends
About RIPE Maillists
Maillists Archive
Global Lists
Non Active Lists
RIPE NCC Navigation Ends
Next Section
<<< Chronological >>> Author Index    Subject Index <<< Threads >>>

Re: Anti-spam Working Group

  • From: Gunnar Lindberg < >
  • Date: Wed, 2 Sep 1998 08:48:52 +0200 (MET DST)

It seems like an increasing number of spam Mail Relay now uses hosts
in Spain (.es), most often Sun with native/naive sendmail. Using RIPE
whois-info doesn't seem to get through, at least there is no response.

If this list happens to contain .es ISPs it would be highly appreciated
if you spread the Do Not Relay info to customers (and competitors) by
whatever means have the best effect.

    http://www.sendmail.org/
    http://www.sendmail.org/antispam.html

	Gunnar Lindberg, Chalmers University of Technology

PS
    On at least one occasion I've seen spam with a forged but existing
    From first being Relayed through a .es site, after which the Sys-
    admin at the Relay complained about the innocent From sending spam.
    In fact that's as near to "enough" that you can ever get.

    I guess none of you ISPs will like the idea, but maybe there
    should be like a Sysadmin's Internet Drivers License required
    before a site is actually allowed to connect - some Netiquette,
    something about security, something about logs/alerts.
								    DS




  • Post To The List:
<<< Chronological >>> Author    Subject <<< Threads >>>
 

Next Section
     About RIPE | Site Map | LIR Portal | About the RIPE NCC | Contact | © RIPE Community. All rights reserved.
RIPE.NET Homepage LIR Portal RIPE Community